Ways to Stay Focused on your Writing

boats-2130994_960_720
In recent months I had been more focused on writing of my first novella than ever before and thankfully the focus remains. I was trying to work out what had helped me so I could share some tips with you.
Here they are:
  1. Have a friendly audience

I started to email my revised chapters to my friends to hear their views on them. Their positive praise, concerns about the characters and impatient requests for next chapters really helps me to stay focused and work on delivering the chapters as soon as possible.
  1. Let the characters loose

I gave my characters the freedom to develop in their own ways. To my surprise my initially supporting character actually became the heroine. When I stopped pushing the characters in my pre-defined boxes, they became more rounded and writing became more fun for me.
  1. Talk about it

I started to share that I am writing a book with others. I told my boss, my colleagues at work and I am telling you through this blog. This drives my writing as I will eventually need to show the goods!

First, find out what your hero wants, then just follow him! – Ray Bradbury

cropped-light

Leave a Reply

